American Student Dental Association
MyASDA Login
The Issues
State Licensure Spotlight: Georgia

Dr. Kallie LawDr. Kallie L. Law, Alabama '12
2011-12 contributing editor

This content was originally published in the April 2014 issue of Advocacy Brief.

Want to apply for a dental license in the great state of Georgia – home of the Braves, Bulldogs and the south’s best peaches? Download this PDF for full dentist licensure instruction for the state of Georgia. In short, you need to:

  • Submit a complete notarized application with $125 application fee to the Georgia Board of Dentistry with a recent 2x2 photo.
  • Verify licenses for every other state dental license you hold.
  • Request that an official DMD or DDS degree transcript be sent to the Board directly from your accredited dental school.
  • Send NBDE Part I and Part II scores directly from the ADA to the board. The ADA can be reached at 1-800-621-8099.
  • Pass CRDTS (the only clinical licensure examination accepted in Georgia) with a score of 75 or greater in all sections. CRDTS must send a notarized score sheet to the Georgia Dental Board.
  • Pass Georgia’s open book Jurisprudence Examination with a score or 75 or higher.
  • Obtain a self-query from the National Practitioner Data Bank and submit it to the Board.
  • Submit a photocopy of a current CPR certification to the Board.
  • Submit a copy of a court document or affidavit explaining any discrepancies of the applicant’s name if documents submitted bears different name(s) (e.g. marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal name change).

Licensure by credentials: You can practice in the state of Georgia through licensure by credentials if you have been in practice for five years and have been in full time clinical practice for a minimum of 1,000 hours per year treating patients. Training programs are not applicable and the application fee in $3,025.

License renewal: You are required to renew your license in the state of Georgia every two years. Licenses expire on the last day of December in odd numbered years. After obtaining your initial license, Georgia offers an online renewal process.

Continuing Education (C.E.): 40 hours every two years through a variety of methods including: lecture, participation, board investigation, exam administration, self instruction, teaching and volunteer services.

Residency: Georgia currently does not accept a residency for licensure. However, a GPR or AEGD program earns you 150 participation hours toward your Fellowship in the Academy of General Dentistry. Make sure to become a member after graduation!

I applied for my Georgia license toward the end of my GPR in early 2013. The process is fairly straightforward but time consuming. It takes patience to contact each organization (ADA, NPDB, dental school, CRDTS) and ensure they follow through. I made copies of everything in my application and kept a back up in my filing cabinet, lest something got lost along the way. E-mail is a great way to stay in touch with the Board. Be nice to everyone you meet during the process because they can help speed things up if need be. Read through all the paperwork, make a checklist and get started well before you anticipate starting in practice. There is no better feeling than when your license finally comes. Good luck!


Find out about licensure in other states by visiting our licensure map.

© 2014 American Student Dental Association; Feedback? Contact Us
211 E. Chicago Avenue, Suite 700, Chicago, IL 60611  |  Phone 800-621-8099, ext. 2795 or Direct 312-440-2795  |  Fax 312-440-2820  |  Privacy & Security Policy